Sara Markoe Hanson from the White Bear Lake Area Historical Society shares some history about past quarantines.
Shops & Business
In the spring of 1888, the White Bear Fire Department formally organized as three companies: the Engine Company, the Hose Company and the Hook and Ladder Company. Almost immediately, an engine house was constructed by local contractor William H.
The Minnesota Prison Writing Workshop (MPWW) is helping inmates in prisons across Minnesota find their voices.
Fall of 1868 was a turning point in the history of our area when the Lake Superior and Mississippi Railroad opened its first division between St. Paul and White Bear. Planning for the relatively short 12-mile track began in 1864.
In some ways, Josh Helm—a White Bear Lake High School graduate, an Iraq veteran and owner of the White Bear Lake JDog Junk Removal & Hauling franchise—is a matchmaker.
By scaling down photos to create timeless pieces of jewelry, the Woodford sisters help keep important stories close to heart.
As early as 1913, the White Bear school board was planning for a new, larger building to be the home of high school classes. Prior to that, students went to North St. Paul or St.
Creating something by hand can be a fulfilling process. Using just a bit of yarn and two needles to create a beautiful gift for yourself or someone you love can be a wonderful experience. This is something sisters Kirsten Skoglund and Polly Hart wanted to give the White Bear Lake area.
The Bald Eagle Women’s Club was organized on June 24, 1925 at the home of Mrs. Archibald Thompson. Mrs. Danforth was made the temporary chairman, and upon the acceptance of the bylaws, she was unanimously elected as the organization’s first president.